This iconic fortress on a promontory on the shore of Loch Ness was last garrisoned in 1689. When the government troops left in 1692 they blew up the gatehouse so that the castle could not be used again. Now in the care of Historic Environment Scotland.
Opening hours (seasonal changes, please check). Admission charge. Free to HS members. Parking is free, but must be booked online in advance.
tel: 01456 450 551